Book Review

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

33009320Long before she was the terror of Wonderland, she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love. Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next queen.

Then Cath meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the king and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship. Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.


Heartless by Marissa Meyer                           My rating: 2/5 Stars

Source: OwlCrate Edition (Nov Box)               Format: Hardcover, 453 pgs

Status: Read from Nov 8, 2016 to Jan 18, 2017


Heartless follows protagonist Catherine, who loves baking and making confectioneries. But, when she catches the eye of the King of Hearts — she wants out.

To say that I am disappointed with Heartless would be an understatement. It took me nearly two months to read through it and that’s very rare for me — I could never get into it. Most of the time I was bored and by the end of the book, I was rushing to finish the book. I didn’t want to DNF it hoping that it would get better, that something will spark in the book for me.

The whole book I didn’t connect with Catherine at all. I found her selfish and even childish at time. Half of the book was her complaining about her life and what she has to do. However, I understand that she wanted to be her own person and wanted to own her bakery. And I commend her on that but, she acted like a three-year-old when she didn’t get her way.

After finishing Heartless I am still not sure why she doesn’t like the King of Hearts. Yes, he is a little strange and not very ‘manly,’ but there aren’t reasons why she despises him. From the get go, she has no intention of marrying him, and acts like him is a disease.

I also wasn’t a massive fan of the romance. It was unquestionably instalove. They see each other once and she already wants to be with him. I really enjoyed Jest as a character. He was charismatic, magical and knew the right things to say. I enjoyed getting to know him.

One of the things that I loved about the Lunar Chronicles was the friendships — they were exceptional. However, in Heartless that was not the case. Obviously this a different story, but friendships are so important in books for me. And even though there was somewhat some, it wasn’t enough. There was no spark.

I did, however, love the world of Heartless. It was everything that you could imagine an Alice in Wonderland retelling would be. I loved all the hints to the original world. The characters, who they would become, sayings and everything in between. There were parts that put a smile on my face. I loved that it was effortlessly intertwined with one another.

Nevertheless, I felt that Heartless was too long. With over 450 pages, I was bored at times. There were some good scenes here and there, but I felt that everything else was filler. Yet, I really enjoying the last 100 pages or so.

Have you read Heartless? What did you think of it? Are you going to read it? Have you read Marissa Meyer’s other books? Let’s Chat!

 

Be My Friend On Goodreads!

