Book Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

court-of-thorns-and-rosesWhen 19-year-old Feyre kills a wolf in the barren woods near her home in Prythian, she thinks it might be enough to help her family survive another long winter. Instead, a monstrous creature soon comes to the cottage, accusing Feyre of murder and demanding she return with him to the Fae realm as payment for the life she took. Feyre finds herself held on a lavish estate belonging to an elite Fae creature known as Tamlin. Over the course of her captivity, Feyre soon learns that life in the Fae realm can be as much of an opportunity as a punishment. When her feelings for Tamlin shift from loathing to lust, Feyre also realizes little will be able to keep them apart—not even the threat of evil lurking on the borders of the estate. Something that has cursed Tamlin for centuries may destroy him and his realm if Feyre can’t find a way to stop it.


A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1

Format: Hardcover, 416 pgs

Status: Read from January 27 to 28, 2017

My Rating: 3/5 stars


I should ADORE this but overall it was just okay. There are things I totally loved about this story, but they are marred by the things that didn’t quite work out for me and so what I’m left with is feeling in the middle where I didn’t love it but I didn’t hate it either.

The writing wasn’t as well written as I hoped. The romance was meh for me since I felt the characters were so disconnected. I couldn’t feel any pity or remorse for them. I couldn’t find too much of a personality from either Tamlin or Feyre. And that’s something something because I wanted such strong characters. The way they got together felt too unbelievable. One moment they’re friends, the next, not so? I wanted a gradual love. One with long gazes and stares and flirting, but there wasn’t. Even though I found more of a fighter in Feyre during the three tasks, I necessarily didn’t believe that she would become instantly brave and courageous in an instant. That bothered me too. The pacing was just way too slow or way too sudden which is why I dropped a star. The war with the Faeries is more exciting than the love story and there were just tons and tons of info dumps and I was trying to take it all in. It would have worked better if Feyre figured this all out on her own so we wouldn’t be overwhelmed with all the information. Lucien is annoying but protective in a big brother way and he and Rhysand are my favorites. Rhysand because from the moment he helped Feyre I knew he was doing it for some other good reason, which Feyre found way too late.

Here’s hoping more of the second half appears in the sequel because I really like the magical element to this world. And that Feyre will be faster at decisions and figure out clues faster because I was constantly yelling at her about everything. Overall, a good start to a series but didn’t have that feeling of a page turner that TOG had. The twist to Beauty and the Beast is slightly creative, I might add.

Add Me On Goodreads!

