TBR

January 2017

Happy New Year! 2017 is here! I don’t know about you but I was ready for 2016 to be over. The best thing I can say about 2016 is that it was an excellent reading year. I have some high expectations for this reading year! There are so many books coming out this year and I’m participating in several awesome reading challenges! 2017 is the year I WILL make a dent in my ginormous TBR pile. Or I will try not to add to it, at least.

This year, I want to start taking both my reading and blogging more seriously, so I’ve compiled a short list of easy-to-accomplish goals for the year, and I think will benefit me in the long run. they may not sound like much, but I feel that it will help to motivate me a lot more, leading me to become more active in the online bookish community. Well, hopefully.

Read 80 books

Ah, yes, the Goodreads yearly reading challenge. Last year, I set a goal of 50, which was very ambitious of me, but guess what…I failed my 2016 Goodreads Challenge. Miserably. Like so bad it’s embarrassing. How embarrassing you ask?  I read 8 out of 50 books.

rc
T_T

So for this year, I’ve set a goal of 80 books, which is a big jump from what I failed in 2016. It’s the biggest goal that I’ve ever set, and I’m hoping that I can push past it.

Review every book I read

I’m still trying to find my own review style, and I feel that trying to review every book that I read throughout the course of the year will help me finally settle on something that’s my own.

Be more active on Goodreads

I really neglect the update progress feature on Goodreads, and I’m hoping to really work on fixing that. I want to get more into the habit of updating and sharing my thoughts as I read, rather than in one large chunk at the very end. This would probably even make the review progress a whole lot easier, too, because I can simply check pack to see what my thoughts were as I was reading, rather than trying to recall then at the end.

Use my blog more

My goal is to post a reading wrap-up and a monthly TBR at the beginning of every month. I also plan on posting unboxing every time I receive a subscription box from OwlCrateFairyloot, and UppercaseBox. It’s not much, but it’s a start.

And that’s really it. They’re not big goals, I know, but we all have to start somewhere. If there are any other reading or bookish goals you feel I should aim for this year, please let me know!


The start of a new month always calls for a new TBR list. Here is what I’m hoping to read throughout the month of January:

Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken

Night World by LJ Smith

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Throne of Glass by Sarah Maas

What books are you planning to read this month?

